Scotland, a small country on the edge of Europe, with rugged highlands and picturesque coasts, a land with a thousand faces, shaped by myths and traditions, by wild battles, rebellion and harsh customs. It is a people with an incredible amount of courage, open cordiality, humor and wild passion. But it also produced great thinkers, philosophers, scientists and romantics. The men wore kilts with swords at their side and the women were proud and strong. And when there was a party, there was not only the famous whisky, but there was also plenty of dancing. And in the Scottish way - with the Scottish Country Dance, which we also dance.

In July 2020 the idea arose to found a new dance group in Salzburg. Katrin Edelmann and Christine Wurm are now running the "Cuillin Scottish Dancers". Katrin has been dancing since 2015, Christine since 2012. Katrin has taken part in many workshops in Europe in order to learn and gain skills. In spring 2019, when her friends in Northern  Italy Branch (www.rscds.it) informed her they were organizing a teacher training course for Scottish Country Dance, she jumped at the chance. In February 2020 she successfully completed the first 3 of the required 5 exams and now has the Teaching Certificate Part 1 (Preliminary Teachers Certificate).

Our dance group meets every Thursday at 7.30 p.m. in the Dance Base, Salzburg. Everyone is free to come along and try it out and get a taste. It is ideal for anyone who enjoys exercise, socializing, teamwork and wishes to keep their mind alert. Beginners are very welcome as well as those who just want to get their dancing feet going again. You don't need to bring a dance partner but if you have someone in mind – then all the better - everyone is welcome. You can join us at any time. We look forward to seeing you. Enjoying dancing is important for all of us here, no matter what age, and Scottish Country Dance unites us all.

Katrin Edelmann

Christine Wurm

Our dance group is named after a mountain range on the Isle of Skye "The Cuillins". After some research, we found that there is no dance group with this name, nor is there a tartan. Katrin has created a tartan, which is now our dance group tartan (see logo). The tartan is based on the colors of Scotland's national flower - the thistle. We hope that registration of the tartan in the official tartan register (www.tartanregister.gov.uk) will be possible soon.

View from Sligachan Bridge to the north end of the Cuillin Mountains

View from the summit "Bruach na Firthe"

Honorary member James S. Stott (Jim)

We are proud to have Jim as an honorary member of your group.  Jim was Katrin's dance teacher and Tutor for the RSCDS exams parts 2 & 3 in Vicenza / Italy.

Jim started dancing in 1965, eventually dancing for the RSCDS Aberdeen Demonstration Team. In 1974, when he became a Primary-School Teacher, he started to teach Scottish dancing in schools and entered many childrens teams into the Aberdeen Festival. In 1992 he obtained the RSCDS Preliminary Teachers Certificate and then the Full Certificate in 1994. He has taught at many Day and Weekend Schools world-wide: not only in Britain, but in Europe, Japan, North America, & Australia.

In 2005, he became one of the first Medal Assessors  for the RSCDS medal for children, and then later became an adjudicator (2007) and an examiner (2019).

He has been heavily involved with RSCDS; as a committee member (Education & Training, Youth Services, the Management Board), as Depute Director of Summer School, and then Schools Director in 2015. He has run St Andrews Summer School for the 3 years.

Jim enjoys teaching dancing and has taught at St Andrews Summer School for the past 14 years: he says, „this  has been a fantastic opportunity to engage with hundreds of dancers from about 40 different countries. It give me great pleasure to see Scottish country dancing continue to thrive all over the world.“   James S. Stott (2019)

 

James S. Stott (Novosibirsk 2019)

Katrin and Jim - February 2020 in Vicenza / Italy

Cuillin Scottish Dancers Salzburg 2020

  • w-facebook
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

Schottland, ein kleines Land am Rande Europas, mit zerklüftetem Hochland und malerischen Küsten, ein Land mit tausend Gesichtern, das geprägt ist von Mythen und Tradition, von wilden Kämpfen, Rebellion und rauen Sitten. Es ist ein Volk mit unglaublich viel Mut, offener Herzlichkeit, Humor und wilder Leidenschaft. Aber auch große Denker, Philosophen, Wissenschaftler und Romantiker brachte es hervor. Die Männer trugen Kilts und Schwerter; an ihrer Seite waren stolze und starke Frauen. Und wenn gefeiert wurde, gab es nicht nur den berühmten Whisky, sondern es wurde auch ausgiebig getanzt. Und zwar auf die schottische Art - mit dem Scottish Country Dance, den auch wir tanzen.

Im Juli 2020 entstand die Idee, eine neue Tanzgruppe in Salzburg zu gründen. Katrin Edelmann und Christine Wurm leiten nun die "Cuillin Scottish Dancers". Katrin tanzt seit 2015, Christine seit 2012. Katrin nahm an sehr vielen Workshops in Europa teil, um sich stets weiterzubilden. Sie entschloss sich im Frühjahr 2019, als die Anfrage von ihren Freunden der Northern Italy Branche (www.rscds.it) kam, mit der Lehrerausbildung für Scottish Country Dance zu beginnen. Im Februar 2020 schloss sie erfolgreich die ersten 3 von insgesamt 5 Prüfungen ab und besitzt nun das Zertifikat Teil 1 (Preliminary Teachers Certificate).

Unsere Tanzgruppe trifft sich jeden Donnerstag um 19:30 Uhr in der Dance Base, Salzburg. Jeder darf sich ausprobieren und zum Schnuppern kommen. Jeder, der Spaß an Bewegung hat, an Geselligkeit, an Teamarbeit und einem wachen Geist. Schottisch Tanzen ist für jeden geeignet, auch für Anfänger und auch für jene, die ihr Tanzbein wieder in Schwung bringen wollen. Das Gute ist, dass du keinen Tanzpartner brauchst. Komm allein oder mit Freunden - jeder ist willkommen. Du kannst jederzeit bei uns einsteigen. Wir freuen uns auf euch. Denn Scottish Country Dance vereint uns. Freude am Tanzen ist für uns allen wichtig, egal, welche Altersgruppe.

Schotten_Tanz_2020 P8.jpg

Katrin Edelmann

Schotten_Tanz_2020 P7.jpg

Christine Wurm

Namensgeber für unsere Tanzgruppe ist eine Bergkette auf der Insel Skye "The Cuillins". Nach Recherchen fanden wir heraus, dass es noch keine Tanzgruppe mit diesem Namen gibt, ebenso noch kein Tartan-Muster. Katrin hat einen eigenen Tartan kreiert, der nun für unsere Tanzgruppe steht (siehe Logo). Vorlage dafür waren die Farben der Nationalblume Schottlands - die Distel. Eine Registrierung im offiziellen Tartan-Register (www.tartanregister.gov.uk) erfolgt in Kürze.

IMG_20190506_105626_2.jpg

Blick von der Sligachan Bridge auf das nördliche Ende der Cuillin Berge

IMG_20190510_123942_1.jpg

Blick vom Gipfel "Bruach na Firthe"

Skye Karte The Cuillin.png

Ehrenmitglied James S. Stott

Wir sind stolz auf unser Ehrenmitglied Jim Stott. Jim war Katrins Tanzlehrer und Tudor für die Prüfungen 2+3 zur Tanzprüfung in Vicenza/Italien.

Jim begann 1965 zu tanzen und tanzte schließlich für das RSCDS Aberdeen Demonstration Team. 1974, als er Grundschullehrer wurde, begann er schottischen Tanz in Schulen zu unterrichten und trat vielen Kinderteams beim Aberdeen Festival bei. 1992 erhielt er das RSCDS Preliminary Teachers Certificate und 1994 das Full Certificate. Er unterrichtete an vielen Tages- und Wochenendschulen weltweit: nicht nur in Großbritannien, sondern auch in Europa, Japan, Nordamerika und Australien.

2005 wurde er einer der ersten Medaillenprüfer für die RSCDS-Medaille für Kinder und später Entscheidungsichter (2007) und Prüfer (2019).

Er war stark in die RSCDS involviert; als Komiteemitglied (Bildung & Ausbildung, Jugendhilfe, Vorstand), als stellvertretender Direktor der Summer School und dann 2015 als Schulleiter. Er leitet seit 3 Jahren die St. Andrews Summer School.

Jim unterrichtet gerne Tanz und unterrichtet seit 14 Jahren an der St. Andrews Summer School: „Dies war eine fantastische Gelegenheit, mit Hunderten von Tänzern aus etwa 40 verschiedenen Ländern in Kontakt zu treten. Es ist mir eine große Freude zu sehen, wie der schottische Country-Tanz auf der ganzen Welt weiter gedeiht. “  James S. Stott (2019)

Jim.jpg

James S. Stott (Novosibirsk 2019)

VID-20200118-WA0008_Moment_2.jpg

Katrin und Jim - Februar 2020 in Vicenza/Italien